snapezo versus spotlight frames

Share your pictures of framed art and discuss framing.
bd43274

Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:42 am

Let me start by saying I'm a complete noob here of course. I've been collecting alternative movie posters for all of 3 months. But in order to lose my "noob" status, I need to make some posts that may or may not be worth the time it takes to read them, right?

So what can I contribute with such a small amount of experience? Though I've only been in this hobby for 3 months, I have collected theatrical one sheets for much longer. So maybe there's something that they have in common I can talk about. What did I come up with? Framing! Who's not excited about a good frame?!?

My experience with up to now has been 100% Snapezo for my one sheets, and Michael's custom for anything with "real" value (don't worry, no dry mounting or any of that nonsense.) To be clear, Snapezo frames aren't what I'd consider bad, but we'll get to that in a moment. The point of this post is really to speak to the difference in quality between these two brands. And let me tell you...the difference in quality is immense.

For anyone wanting to know before they purchase either, let me save you the trouble. The Snapezo frame itself is ok. It's fine. It does the job and it's front loading, meaning you can swap posters out whenever the desire to hits you. The overlays, however, are anything but fine. In fact, they're God awful. I never actually realized any of this until I tried Spotlight frames.