Insuring a lot of silkscreen prints?

Information on shipping, storing and repairing your art, plus your reviews on products for art collecting, making, storing, etc..
glasssiren

Mon Sep 07, 2020 2:49 am

Hi Good morning all....

I was wondering if any one has any advice on insuring a large collection of silkscreen prints.

I'm an artist and printmaker and run a very small silkscreen print studio in the city of Leeds in the uk.

Its mostly abstract work that i produce these days much of which is heavily inspired by sound. Over the last 13 years or so i've been exploring various multi-layer print processes and have built up quite a large collection of prints. I sell a number of these online during the course of each month which enables me to keep the studio running and keep on developing new print releases. I dont sell my work for crazy amounts of money or anything like that but gradually as i've started make more limited edition pieces in recent history some of these prints are selling for more money when i connect with the right buyers.

The reason i'm asking is the living space thats siuated above me nearly flooded the other month. Someone had left the taps on and the sink had started to overflow, fortunately no water actually made it though the ceiling into my studio as i rushed out to the above property and got them to turn off all the water but a few droplets had started to form on the ceiling in my studio so i was very lucky to be working at the time and spotted it before anything unspeakable happened..... The ceiling was wiped with a cloth and everything was ok but It put the fear of god into me and got me thinking about the possibility of insuring the work i've made so far.......

Does anyone have any advice on what i could do to cover the work with some kind of insurance policy?

Any help would be very much appreciated

Cheers

Damon - Glass Siren Studio
jjttdw
Art Expert

Mon Sep 07, 2020 10:07 am