Image forum links not working?

Share your thoughts or ask all your questions about ExpressoBeans here.

Postby solepole on Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:59 pm

Ok, so what am I doing wrong? I just spent 2+ hours going through my entire collection and posting 60+ posters for sale in a new thread. I used the "image remoting" forums 1/2 links, as I have always done, but instead of showing the image of the poster for sale, it just says the word "Image."
I thought maybe it is just a sitewide glitch, however, I checked out other FS posts, and they have the images linked as they normally are (see example here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=175110).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
solepole
Art Connoisseur
 
Status: Active
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL

Postby mfaith on Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm

That hasn't worked in over a year, when the site first started exhibiting problems. It's a known issue, which will be addressed as part of the remodel.
User avatar
mfaith
EB Team
 
Status: Active
Posts: 32708
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:50 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Image Image ImageImageImage

Postby solepole on Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:54 pm

mfaith wrote:That hasn't worked in over a year, when the site first started exhibiting problems. It's a known issue, which will be addressed as part of the remodel.

Thanks for the update. I can't believe it's been that long since I tried to post an image! I guess having a child really has limited my free time!

Btw, Might you happen to know why the edit button has completely disappeared from a "for sale" thread/post I made yesterday? I want to edit it and update some of the details and list some of the pieces as sold or pending, but the edit button is completely gone (yes, I am logged into my account).

I really appreciate the help!
solepole
Art Connoisseur
 
Status: Active
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL

Postby mfaith on Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:00 pm

solepole wrote:
mfaith wrote:That hasn't worked in over a year, when the site first started exhibiting problems. It's a known issue, which will be addressed as part of the remodel.

Thanks for the update. I can't believe it's been that long since I tried to post an image! I guess having a child really has limited my free time!

Btw, Might you happen to know why the edit button has completely disappeared from a "for sale" thread/post I made yesterday? I want to edit it and update some of the details and list some of the pieces as sold or pending, but the edit button is completely gone (yes, I am logged into my account).

I really appreciate the help!

That's actually (as far as I know) always been that way. Across the entire forum, not just sales, you're only able to edit your posts for 24 hours. After that time edits are possible. For sales specifically, if you want to make updates, then just reach out to a mod with the details about what you want to update, and they'll make the edits for you.
User avatar
mfaith
EB Team
 
Status: Active
Posts: 32708
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:50 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Image Image ImageImageImage

Postby solepole on Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:33 pm

mfaith wrote:
solepole wrote:
mfaith wrote:That hasn't worked in over a year, when the site first started exhibiting problems. It's a known issue, which will be addressed as part of the remodel.

Thanks for the update. I can't believe it's been that long since I tried to post an image! I guess having a child really has limited my free time!

Btw, Might you happen to know why the edit button has completely disappeared from a "for sale" thread/post I made yesterday? I want to edit it and update some of the details and list some of the pieces as sold or pending, but the edit button is completely gone (yes, I am logged into my account).

I really appreciate the help!

That's actually (as far as I know) always been that way. Across the entire forum, not just sales, you're only able to edit your posts for 24 hours. After that time edits are possible. For sales specifically, if you want to make updates, then just reach out to a mod with the details about what you want to update, and they'll make the edits for you.


Thank you again. I just reached out to them. Seems pretty silly to only allow you to modify your post for 24hrs. Hopefully this goes away with the site revamp!
solepole
Art Connoisseur
 
Status: Active
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL

Postby Codeblue on Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:53 am

Nope, was done on purpose because certain someone's went through and deleted all of their posts after certain transgressions. This change was made to prevent pertinent information from being removed after the fact.
User avatar
Codeblue
Art God
 
Status: Active
Posts: 47762
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Expresso Beans
RupertPupkin wrote:I live by this rule and this rule alone: people are drymounting idiots.

Postby solepole on Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:20 am

Codeblue wrote:Nope, was done on purpose because certain someone's went through and deleted all of their posts after certain transgressions. This change was made to prevent pertinent information from being removed after the fact.


There's always those few jerks that ruin a good thing for the rest of us! I appreciate and support the reasoning.
solepole
Art Connoisseur
 
Status: Active
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL

Postby Loobaz on Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:28 am

mike123230 posted this workaround a little while back. That's probably what the other members whose links are working use.

mike123230 wrote:Workaround:

If you go to discuss remotely, it gives you (I added spaces so it wouldn't actually create the link):

[ url=http://expressobeans.com/public/detail.php/215502/288379][ img]http://expressobeans.com/remote/1711:288379.jpg[/img ][/url ]

replace "remote/1711:" with "visual/IS.php?id=" and delete the ".jpg"

like so:

[ url=http://expressobeans.com/public/detail.php/215502/288379][ img]http://expressobeans.com/visual/IS.php?id=288379[/img ][/url ]

so you get:

Image

I AM THE SMARTEST MAN ALIVE
User avatar
Loobaz
Art Connoisseur
 
Status: Active
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 9:17 am

Postby solepole on Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:44 pm

Loobaz wrote:mike123230 posted this workaround a little while back. That's probably what the other members whose links are working use.

mike123230 wrote:Workaround:

If you go to discuss remotely, it gives you (I added spaces so it wouldn't actually create the link):

[ url=http://expressobeans.com/public/detail.php/215502/288379][ img]http://expressobeans.com/remote/1711:288379.jpg[/img ][/url ]

replace "remote/1711:" with "visual/IS.php?id=" and delete the ".jpg"

like so:

[ url=http://expressobeans.com/public/detail.php/215502/288379][ img]http://expressobeans.com/visual/IS.php?id=288379[/img ][/url ]

so you get:

Image

I AM THE SMARTEST MAN ALIVE


Loobaz, after my original post, I did some searching and found this, and was luckily able to still edit my post at that time and updated all the hyperlinks accordingly. Thanks for letting me know though!
solepole
Art Connoisseur
 
Status: Active
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL


Return to Help and Suggestions



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests