McGraw's DIY Frame Experiment

Information on shipping, storing and repairing your art, plus your reviews on products for art collecting, making, storing, etc..
mcgraw23
Art Expert

Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:23 pm

So I recently filled my garage with a bunch of tools/woodworking equipment from my grandpa's house so I thought to myself: what better way to put it to use than trying to make my own frames! Obviously I'm no pro but I thought I'd chronicle my first frame from start to finish. If you've got constructive criticism that isn't completely belittling, I'd def. appreciate it. Anyway, enough preface..

First print I'm making a frame for is one of my favorites:

I started by grabbing $6 worth of white pine at Home Depot and cutting a 1/2" rabbit groove into it:

I then measured out the size I want and used my chop saw to make the cuts @ a 45' angle for (hopefully) flush joints:
After some trial and error and getting all the joints relatively close, I began joining them. I did a lot of research to try and find a somewha inexpensive but efficient way to join them and settled on using Logan's Studio Joiner (40% off at Hobby Lobby) and wood glue. It seems to make a sturdy enough joint for what I'm looking to accomplish currently.

As you can probably tell, there are some imperfections in the frame so I'm using a wood-putty to hopefully cover up the gap in the one corner, sand over it, then begin the aesthetic process..
I'll have more to post tomorrow. Above is what I got done in about 1.5 hours this afternoon and I'm hoping it'll turn out well. :pint:
A Lannister always pays his debts.
gambit
Art Enthusiast

Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:17 am

Looking good. Hope everything goes well.
so take a card...ANY CARD!"
SenseiMonkeyboy1
Art Expert

Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:29 am

Thanks for postings these man. Been wanting to try this myself and these are a great inspiration!
mcgraw23
Art Expert

Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:27 pm